Standing by the hill-side gazing over the Cool Culture of Otakuism!

The Crowd at PAM16

Penang Anime Matsuri 2016 Magical Summer successfully had its run last weekend, with your truly able to attend it in full for both days. =w=

Many thanks to a certain someone from SOZO for setting aside a pass for me, which I’d collected a day before the actual event during my lunch hour.

PAM16_Crowd_01

If you’re reading this, I’ve had my share of fun memories out from the two-day exhaustion.

Please do forgive me if I somehow trespass the privilege of the pass, which I’m not aware of. 

In the wee hours on the main day (Last Saturday), I’ve departed from my den in my trusty transport and headed towards the venue…

This is the 2nd run of PAM ever since the success last year, with full collaboration/support from the Penang state government itself. As per the immortal quote from the Chief Minister of the island later the day during the concert: “I don’t know anime, but I give you anime!” (Not exact words but close enough)…

PAM16_Crowd_02

There were already a number of eager comrades waiting in line to get their first dibs on their event ticket(s).

Even the entrance was fully packed with those already got their tickets in hand, redeemed or purchased before the main day or otherwise.

PAM16_Crowd_03
PAM16_Crowd_04PAM16_Crowd_05
PAM16_Crowd_06PAM16_Crowd_07

Even as the gate opens, the flash flood of them crowd poured in immediately like a company of hamsters being released from their captive cardboard box… XDc 

Most of them immediately turned their attention towards the AFA Shop just immediately to the right of the entrance of the main hall.

This is especially true for Day 1, when many of us had to endure long hour(s) of queue to get them limited items like guest cosplayers’ photo books and other odds and ends. I myself had to get in line for about 1 1/2 hours before gotten myself the stuff I need (A favour for a Singaporean friend who cannot attend the said event in person). 

PAM16_Crowd_08
PAM16_Crowd_09
PAM16_Crowd_10PAM16_Crowd_11PAM16_Crowd_12

Most local doujin stuff were located on the surrounding concourse on the 2nd floor of the main hall.

Many visiting comrades were eager to browse and sort through the booths for their favourite merchandise and artworks.

PAM16_Crowd_13PAM16_Crowd_14
PAM16_Crowd_15
PAM16_Crowd_16PAM16_Crowd_17

Located just across the main entrance is an enclosed area (With air conditioning) for the more commercial side of the booths, selling various figures, anime merchandise, DVDs, T-Shirts, etc.

Unfortunately, the inside was too dark for comfort, but the officials noticed the problem and immediately rectify the situation on the next day by adding more light source.

PAM16_Crowd_18
PAM16_Crowd_19PAM16_Crowd_20
PAM16_Crowd_21PAM16_Crowd_22

The PAM site moved towards the adjacent Esplanade field at the end of the day, for the night of concert and open air stalls just like last year’s.

On the road in between the two sites were a number of stalls to provide food and beverages to the crowd.

PAM16_Crowd_23

The open stage for the concert itself.

Many concert goers already gathered on site in wait for the most anticipated night full of anisong, as early as 1400 hours that day! Unfortunately, a downpour occurred just a couple of hours before the opening of the concert itself, forcing those already there to dash for nearby cover. XDc

Unfortunately I had to skip day 2 (motsu X DJ KAYA and GARNiDELiA) due to tight schedule… But I did heard of a strange phenomenon of Gardenia breads hovering amongst the crowd during GARNiDELiA’s concert… XDc

PAM16_Crowd_24
PAM16_Crowd_25

Although the field grounds were now muddy and full of accumulating rainwater spots, excited fans still came nonetheless.

I did stayed for half of the concert myself on day 1, enjoying a nice selection of songs from DJ YURiA (I do agree with many comrades that she need to brush up her DJing as well as transitioning between songs) as well as LiSA herself. One will never get bored of listening to Oath Sign (Fate/Zero) live on stage.

PAM16_Crowd_26
PAM16_Crowd_27

Due to limits of regulations, I cannot upload or post any photos I took during the course of Day 1’s concert. Then again I only have like about 4 photos of the concert night due to a majority of them being unusable any way.

We’ll take a closer look at the displays and booths of the main hall + enclosed tent in my next posting.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Display Booths of PAM16 | オタクールチャーの坂

  2. Pingback: 行く年: Conquering the Past | オタクールチャーの坂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.