Standing by the hill-side gazing over the Cool Culture of Otakuism!

The Day Before AFA13

Waking up very early in the morning excited (Thus having only a total of 5 hours sleep time), I’m going on an adventure a journey to the city of the fishy lion for my annual pilgrimage to Anime Festival Asia 2013!

AFA13_Day_00_01

Barely even dawn, I’ve already hitched a ride towards my island’s only airstrip, to board the crimson steel bird that will take me towards the skies.

Met a fellow DD parent as well as a cosplayer during my wait in the departure halls. Apparently we’re boarding the very same flight. What a small world island.

AFA13_Day_00_02

Time went by in a blink of an eye as we had random talks as well as a brief gaming session before we’re told to get onto the steel plane.

It only took about an hour’s trip from my island to the targeted island, a huge chunk of it I spent the time on my newest favourite PlayStation Vita Gunpla battler game – Gundam Breaker. :3c

AFA13_Day_00_03

Had lunch with my fetching relatives before we head back to the lodge luggage safekeeping.

for Here’s be the general area of the same lodge (My relative’s place) I’m residing every year for the period I’m staying on the island. 

Nice little neighbourhood, although a 5-10 minutes walk away from the nearest Mass Rapid Transit station…

AFA13_Day_00_04

Upon disembarking all my luggage, I’m hopping onto the MRT towards the site of the event itself. 

AFA13_Day_00_05

Even though it’s still a week day, when most comrades are at work, there’s already a few people lining up to buy the entry tickets. notbad.jpg

AFA13_Day_00_06

The queue for the concert tickets are longer…

Everyone’s rushing to hear anisongs sing by Mizuki Nana as well as EGOIST I think. 

AFA13_Day_00_07

The entrance to the exhibition halls.

Trying to gain entry into the halls for some pre-setup piccies but failing the stealth saving throw against the guardian of the gate. Had no choice but to retreat for the day.

AFA13_Day_00_08

We were kinda tricked by the released floor plan itself.

Gauging by the number of doors and brief look inside, looks like the exhibition halls will only consist of one and a half of the halls, with the last half saved for stage and/or concert, a shrink when compared to past years… 

AFA13_Day_00_09

Saw a rather peculiar props sitting outside the halls…

A couple of gigantic ocha bottles! XDc

AFA13_Day_00_10

Grabbed the tix for all 3 days… It’s gonna be a busy and exhausting weekends ahead… 

AFA13_Day_00_11

Also met a few comrades during my time over the event site and hang out for a while before heading elsewhere to meet my relatives again for dinner at Moi Lum.

A very nice Chinese meal at the place. My uncle suggested that we go over there again some time in the next few days to try out another dish. www

AFA13_Day_00_12

Had a rather random encounter with this eyeful lots when heading back to my sleeping place… w

You sure don’t see those in such numbers over my island. XDc

AFA13_Day_00_13

Anyway gonna take my rest now.

See you all in the big day in a few hours time!

4 responses

  1. Last pic….
    What the hell?! A spider drone?

    8th November, 2013 at 06:48

  2. Have fun! Ill be crying my eyes out not being able to attend AFA, this year looks amazing huh…

    8th November, 2013 at 19:42

    • Awaiting your visit next AFA w

      8th November, 2013 at 21:39

  3. Pingback: The Halls of AFA13 | オタクールチャーの坂

Leave a Reply

