Standing by the hill-side gazing over the Cool Culture of Otakuism!

Arrival of a New Phantastic System

Ever since Tamamo‘s introduction into my den a couple of years ago, she has served me with utmost dedication in my various needs.

However, being a timid little rori that she is, her abilities were rather limited, unable to handle the most resource heavy stuffs I’ve thrown at her, at least when compared to her retired almost-a-decade-old onee-chan.

New_Rig_2013_01

OK enough chuu-2-ing. www To explain in simpler words…

My 2-year-old laptop can barely keep up with today’s constantly high-demanding games, so it’s time for me to adopt a new gaming station – a good desktop rig that can handle most if not all and may be able to hold on her own for the next half a decade at least…

Thanks to suggestions by various comrades last week, I’ve pieced together their recommendations and assembled this new sorta-gaming-beast a couple of days ago… ^_~

For the technicalities, here are the specifications:

Intel i5-3470 3.2 GHZ 6MB Cache LGA1155 77W
Asus P8Z77-M Motherboard
2x Team Elite 4GB DDR3 1600MHZ Long DIMM
Asus GeForce GTX 660 DirectCU II OC 2GDDR5
Western Digital (WD10EZEX) 1TB Internal HDD
Asus DRW-24D3ST/BLK/G/AS 24x Internal DVD-RW
Cooler Master GX Bronze 550W
Cooler Master K350 Casing

New_Rig_2013_02

Named my new girl as Qunamon, following a shout-out to a random joking-around during a run in the MMORPG Phantasy Star Online 2. I won’t deny tho that one of my main reason to adopt a new rig is because of this online game… ^_^

During a random run with some Team members in the game, I’ve mentioned that the Idol’s outfit in the game will soon be available to us some time in the future and I’ll get my hands on it to doll up my chara no matter what.

Jokingly, Yukinao6 and Meji declared that I, yunamon, will soon digivolve (a Digimon term for evolution) to Kuunamon/Kunamon/Qunamon, titled after the name of the Idol herself, Kuuna/Kuna/Quna (below). www

pso20130623_130500_024

Also made a record of her live event that occurs twice daily in the game during this past week. She is voiced by the Japanese seiyuu Kitamura Eri!

With new rig comes new assessment of power. Of course I’ll have to benchmark her to see if she can perform well on various games.

Pulling all settings to their maximum value, as well as forcing ambient occlusion to beef up them graphics, running the demo benchmarking tool using PSO2’s Character Create program shows remarkable results…

For some reason PSO2CC ver. 2 fairs a better score when some what compared to its 1st version… 0w0

OK so PSO2 runs well on my new rig, what about other resource-heavy-games? Tried several of them at their respective maximum settings: StarCraft II, The Witcher 2, Assassin’s Creed III and Alan Wake to name a few and all of them runs incredibly smooth with the exception of The Witcher 2 had slight hiccups at times! That’s incredible because I can barely run any of them in good condition on my laptop!

Also took a benchmark using 3DMark, the results are… well… tolerable. 

New_Rig_2013_03

There are 3 demo runs  in the benchmarking and only the first 2 ran smoothly. The last one took the graphic up to eleven, kinda slowing my rig down for the most parts (Only less than 10 FPS!)…

Excuse me while I indulge myself in more graphical beauties. www

5 responses

  1. need new rig minecraft and skyrim to play with… my laptop can’t withstand them anymore

    24th June, 2013 at 11:37

    • That was exactly my feeling a couple of days ago before getting the rig… XDc

      24th June, 2013 at 11:49

  2. Qunamon = best mon

    27th June, 2013 at 06:40

  3. Pingback: A Year in an Online Phantasy | オタクールチャーの坂

  4. Pingback: Enhancing an Online Phantasy | オタクールチャーの坂

Leave a Reply

