Standing by the hill-side gazing over the Cool Culture of Otakuism!

The Way of the Sword

Neglecting the construction of Red Frame, a week has passed in a blink of an eye… However, I was side trackeddue to my latest acquisition of another GunPla – 1/100 Astray Blue Frame 2nd L Clear Colour Version!As all of its parts are moulded in semi transparent substance, I’ve decided to shelf my assembly of PG Astray Red Frame for a while and started to construct this minor Frame instead, since I won’t have to bother to panel line the kit which is very time consuming… XD Anyways, I’ve managed to finish the Blue Frame in one sitting, in about 3 hours time…

Now I can rest easy and continue with my long overdue PG kit…


The star of the kit, the Gerbera Straight, lay bare before my awed eyes… Based upon Japanese Sword design, Red Frame’s signature bling-bling armament is truly a sight to behold.

True to its real world counterpart, Kiku Hitomoji, the blade of Gerbera Straight, is secured onto the Tsuka (hilt) with a Mekugi (Locking Peg)…


Specially designed for the PG Red Frame, this Holder Unit grab hold of Gerbera Straight including its Saya (Scabbard) firmly attached by the side skirt of its wielder… The Holder Unit also features a lock that holds onto the Tsuba (Hand Guard), preventing the blade itself from sliding out from its intended resting place.


Various comparisons with other types of blade, which includes the lesser Red Frame’s Gerbera Straight, Blue Frame’s giant Buster Sword and a real life fruit knife… Due to its immense size, my aunt even commented that the authorities might mistaken the Gerbera Straight as weaponry if I ever bring it out for a walk at my neighbourhood… XD


The Beam Rifle features a mini retractable piece that allows it to dock with Red Frame’s rear skirt, similar to the very same gimmick featured on various MGs…

Red Frame comes with an extruded thingie on both of its palms, allowing it to hold its weapons in place, this is especially true to the design of its weaponry. The Beam Rifle has a mounting hole on its handle, which unfortunately is meant for right-handed use… As you can see from most of my action poses, I prefer my mecha left-handed because I’m a lefty… XD

The upper chamber can be lifted apart to reveal a detailed mechanics of the Rifle…


Here lies the generic Orb Union’s Tower Shield, tho rarely used by Red Frame in the manga series.

Unlike its smaller cousin, this Tower Shield features adjustable handle and arm docker… I’ve always admire the design of SEED universe’s Tower Shield which actually doubles up as a deadly close combat weaponry with its sharp, pointy edges…


The Shield also possesses a shutter hatch, which can be slid upwards to cover the clear windscreen. I’m curious of its actual purpose as most of the Mobile Suits in SEED universe use their shield mainly to protect themselves from incoming fire and occasionally as a blunt weapon, clearly neglecting the usage of this windscreen…


The lesser Tower Shield clearly lacks the adjustability of its older brother…



Red Frame wielding the Beam Rifle and the Tower Shield, at various angles…


Some actions with its toys… ^_^ Guns and Shields are more suitable to Blue Frame than Red Frame… >,<


Now the main treat…


Trying to replicate the pose from a desktop wallpaper, unfortunately there is a certain difficulty on pulling off this kinda stunt…


I saw this pose in Dengeki Hobby May issue, and was successfully duplicated this advanced stance by pulling off the Iron-Man Ground Pound from earlier experience… -_-


May 1st falls on this Friday, it’s Labour’s Day and I’ve got a day off. Therefore the review of the Special Custom Set is next…


Final note, I’m quite amazed at the sheer amount of excess parts left behind from my construction of PG Red Frame… o_0

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,289 other followers